The castle in Krasiczyn is one of the most impressive examples of late Renaissance architecture in Poland. Construction of the castle was initiated in the late 1500s by the Castellan of Przemyśl, Stanisław Krasicki. His son, Marcin Krasicki, transformed the fortified structure into a magnificent residence. The structure has a quadrilateral layout and in the corners it features four cylindrical towers called Divine, Papal, Royal and Noblemen’s. The walls of the edifice, both inside and outside, are covered with unusual sgraffito decorations (carved in plaster), depicting Biblical scenes, medallions with emperors’ busts, portraits of Polish kings as well as hunting scenes. One of the most remarkable architectural features is the chapel located in the Divine Tower, frequently likened to Sigismund’s Chapel at the Wawel Royal Castle in Cracow.
From 1834 the estate was owned by the Sapieha family. It suffered damage in 1762, 1852 and during both world wars. Major reconstruction works were conducted during 1860–1903, in the interwar period and in the latter half of the 20th century. The castle is surrounded with a landscaped park, which replaced a more modest garden; it comprises large ponds and numerous foreign tree species. Of particular notice are ‘the family trees’ planted to commemorate birth of new family members – lime trees carrying names of daughters and oaks named after sons; the latter include oak named Adam Stefan and planted for the future Cardinal Sapieha.
Places worth seeing nearby:
- St. Martin’s church from the 1600s in Krasiczyn
- Jewish cemetery in Krasiczyn
- Przemyśl – city at the junction of Eastern and Western culture
- Private Museum of Fossils and Minerals in Dubiecko